NewsUltimate NL

2021 Ultimate NL annual award winners announcement

Ultimate Newfoundland and Labrador is thrilled to announce the recipients of its 2021 Ultimate NL Awards.

The awards were intended to be presented at an annual Awards Gala celebration. In the midst of planning the in-person event, the continued challenges of COVID-19 continuing to be part of our daily lives influenced the decision to announce the recipients virtually on social media.

“With the announcement we are proud to celebrate the sport of ultimate and the stories of our athletes, coaches, and volunteers who dedicate so much to the sport in our great province.” says Nick House, board president of Ultimate NL. “As a member-based organization, we strongly believe the best part of this sport is the spirit of the game, the sportsmanship and the expectation of fair play, which all of our recipient’s this year embrace.”

Every year Ultimate NL honours the exceptional individuals in our community because their skills, knowledge, and passion for the sport are so invaluable. The awards recognize not only the athletic excellence of those in the ultimate community, but also their leadership within the sport.

Thie 2021 Annual Award recipients are:

  • Female Athlete of the Year Award: Erin Daly
  • Male Athlete of the Year Award: Cameron Penney
  • Junior Female Athlete of the Year Award: Moira Costigan
  • Junior Male Athlete of the Year Award: Coady Murphy
  • Coach of the Year Award: Craig Stoyles
  • Justin Frampton Spirit of the Game Award: Michael Walsh
  • Joe Coady Award: Kathleen Sullivan
  • Kristine Cadigan Award: Sopie Blais
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Dave Finn

You can view the full Press Release announcement to learn more about each recipient. And, to learn more about the annual UNL Awards and past recipients, visit the awards page.

Thank you to Django Malone for taking the awards photos.