NewsUltimate NL

2022 Ultimate NL annual award recipients presented with their awards

Ultimate Newfoundland and Labrador was thrilled to present the recipients of its 2022 Ultimate NL Awards during their annual Volunteer Appreciation and Awards celebration. This year’s recipients are the best and most skilled within the Newfoundland and Labrador Ultimate community, joining past recipients!

“After the last few years of celebrating our awards virtually, it was great to be able to gather with this year’s nominees and invited guests to share all the ways that our athletes, coaches, and volunteers have stepped up to grow the sport of Ultimate in our province,” said Ultimate NL Director of Finance, Eric Ouellette, who also had the honour of being the emcee for the event. “As a member-based organization, each recipient has contributed to the growth of the sport in our community and we are very proud and grateful for their hard work over the last year.”

Every year Ultimate NL honours the exceptional individuals in our community because their skills, knowledge, and passion for the sport are so invaluable. The awards recognize not only the athletic excellence of those in the ultimate community, but also their leadership within the sport.

This year’s winners are:

  • Junior Male Athlete of the Year Award: Cameron Coles
  • Junior Female Athlete of the Year Award: Gracie Beattie
  • Justin Frampton Spirit of the Game Award: Rachael Fitkowski
  • Female Athlete of the Year Award: Stefanie Walsh
  • Male Athlete of the Year Award: Andrew Workman
  • Joe Coady Award: Nicholas House
  • Kristine Cadigan Award: Melissa Wheeler
  • Coach of the Year: Michael Walsh

Michael Walsh, recipient of the 2022 Coach of the Year Award, pictured above arrived after the formal awards presentation and after the group photo was taken.

You can view the full Press Release announcement. And, to learn more about the annual UNL Awards and past recipients, visit the awards page.

Thank you to Udantha Chandraratne for taking the awards photo.